Programme Notes

Inspired by the famous traditional nanyin piece Yuan Xiao Shi Wu (Lantern Festival) which relates the tragic love story of Chen San and Wu Niang, Reminiscences of Yuan Xiao was envisioned as an abstract re-creation of the original piece.  Reminiscences draws upon not only the pitch material, melodic, and gestural features of the original piece, but also the heterophonic texture and the pacing characteristic of nanyin vocal music in general, as well as certain structural features of the tune.  This re-creation of the original tune also attempts to engage with the meaning of the text at various points within the piece.  The work as a whole represents a contemporary reinterpretation of an ancient piece.


Performance History

Premiered by the Ding Yi Music Company under the baton of Quek Ling Kiong on the prize presentation concert for "Composium 2018," on 5 August 2018 in the Lee Foundation Theatre, Nanyang Academy of Fine Arts, Singapore

Performed by the Ding Yi Music Company under the baton of Dedric Wong De Li on 30 May 2019 for the China-ASEAN Music Week held in Nanning, Guangxi, People's Republic of China

Performed by 成都天资国乐 under the baton of Dedric Wong De Li on 21 June 2019 in 成都特仑苏音乐厅, Chengdu, Sichuan, People's Republic of China

Performed by the Little Giant Chinese Chamber Orchestra 小巨人丝竹乐团 under the baton of Chih-Sheng Chen in the National Concert Hall, Taipei, Taiwan



Awarded first prize (large ensemble category) in the 3rd Singapore International Composition Competition for Chinese Chamber Music, "Composium 2018," organized by the Ding Yi Music Company (Singapore)

Reminiscences of Yuan Xiao 《忆·元宵》(2018)

for Chinese chamber ensemble

  • YouTube Social  Icon
  • SoundCloud Social Icon

© 2017 by Jon Lin Chua